Chocolate Covered Bacon Done Better

I had deep friend bacon this year at the State Fair of Texas. I was quite excited to try it out, but I wasn’t impressed in the end. The bacon, dipped in milk chocolate, was flat, cold, chewy, and tasteless. It was borderline nauseating.

I KNEW I could do better!

Bacon is supposed to be Crunchy! Curly! Salty!

The recipe is super easy.

Ingredients:

  • Bacon
  • Baking Chocolate (I used dark)
  • Nuts
  • Olive Oil (not pictured)
  • Wax Paper (not pictured)

Step One: Bacon

I cooked the bacon to my liking, crisp and little burned. I halved the strips to make everything more manageable and more finger food oriented.

Step Two: Melting Chocolate

I got a great tip from a website for melting chocolate.

Add a small amount of EVOO to the bottom of a bowl of chocolate chips. This is supposed to keep it smooth.

Microwave chips in 20-30 second increments and stir between each, until almost completely melted. I let the bowl sit in the microwave and let the rest of the chips melt as I finished the bacon.

Step Three: Dipping

Now, just dip bacon pieces into the chocolate and lay on wax paper to cool. I put them in the fridge right after and waited for complete coolness.

It was worth it.

 

Leave a Reply

